Last Second Blocked Shot

Peters Blocks Shot sm

Last Second Blocked Shot

As I have mentioned in previous posts, when photographing sporting events, I especially like to isolate individual athletes to present action portraits. However, I also enjoy capturing moments that display the athletes’ abilities but also include the emotional reactions of people in the crowd.

While I photographed last night’s game with Valparaiso University against a highly touted St. Louis team, I caught this image of a Valpo player blocking a St. Louis shot with only 1.0 second left on the game clock and the score tied. The athleticism of the play is remarkable, but I also appreciate the expressions of the fans in the stands at this dramatic spot in the evening.

In photos like this one, I feel satisfied that I am able to exhibit the energy and skill of the players combined with the emotion and exuberance of the fans.

Leave a Reply

