New Trail Through Dune Forest

New Trail Through Dune Forest sm

New Trail Through Dune Forest

As the heat wave continued Thursday with temperatures again approaching 100 degrees, I decided to hike a trail through the dune forest, one I’d never tried before. Since its path is fairly level and much of its course extends through heavily wooded terrain, I figured my walk would be less stressful and cooler.

Indeed, the shade of tall trees kept out the strong sunshine, and I was able to discover some new locations to explore along the way. I have mentioned in previous posts how much I enjoy being surprised by details of landscapes when traveling through fresh settings, and this route maintained mystery with every step I took.

In the above photograph I include my picture of the bridge crossing a creek at the beginning of this trail, an image also displaying the dense foliage that not only protected me from the sun’s heat but additionally provided suspense beyond each bend about what might lie ahead, hidden features yet concealed by every twist or turn along the way.

Leave a Reply

