Wind-Bent Tree

Wind Bent Tree

Wind-Bent Tree

In my entry posted yesterday I reported my search for the site of Frank V. Dudley’s studio cottage at the Indiana Dunes. I also mentioned my fondness for Dudley’s landscapes painted among the dunes along Lake Michigan, such as can be seen in this web page by Valparaiso University’s Brauer Museum of Art that is devoted to Dudley and an exhibit of his work staged at the museum.

While I was at the site of his historic Duneland Studio, I took a number of photographs of the surroundings, most likely near where Dudley sometimes stood at his easel to capture the setting. Though the dunes change continually and the foliage has grown dramatically in some places since Dudley’s time, I hope photos like the one included here reflect a bit of the spirit he displayed in his paintings of those splendid scenes found every day around his famous cottage.

Leave a Reply

