Sneak Preview of My Cover Photograph

00_CoverArt

Sneak Preview of My Cover Photograph

I have been approached at various times with offers to take photographs professionally, sometimes by individuals with specific proposals in mind and on other occasions by people wanting me to take pictures of their kids at sporting events. I have also been contacted to supply photographs for websites of nonprofit organizations and online magazines.

As I have stated in the past, I consider myself an “amateur.” If I recall correctly from my high school Latin classes, that means to pursue an activity purely for the love of the endeavor. The term also suggests to some that the person labeled is one who might not be as skillful as a professional. I readily admit to both definitions.

Therefore, I have resisted any requests that I photograph for money. However, on a number of occasions I have contributed my photos for covers of online journals, for material in magazines, for sports venues, for university events, and for web sites of community organizations, all of which are not-for-profit projects.

The image above is one example of such work, a sneak preview of my cover photograph for the new issue (Summer 2013: Vol. 2, No. 2) of Valparaiso Fiction Review, which is scheduled for release on Monday.

Leave a Reply

