Abandoned Barn in March

Abandoned Barn

Abandoned Barn in March

As I drive around rural roads in the area, I frequently come upon farm properties that have been foreclosed or abandoned, oftentimes left empty for years. Although the rundown conditions of some buildings on these sites are depressing to view, something about them seems compelling to me as well.

Each drooping porch roof, decaying storage shed, fallen fence, or scarred barn still appears to be a remnant presenting evidence of a troubled past. I imagine the generations of families who grew on that land—the lives that at one time may have prospered there, the individuals whose futures may have been shaped by events experienced at that location. I like to think children once enjoyed themselves in the garden alongside the farmhouse, or I wonder whether lovers once sat on the metal swing yet hanging from oak tree branches beside the pond.

The photo above was taken at a spot only a few minutes from my home. Many times I had passed by, intending to stop one day to search the farmyard or peer inside the house for hints about its former owners. However, when I finally got around to walking the grounds, I felt as though I had entered a hallowed cemetery, a deep sense of loss pervading the landscape.

Sadly, inside the barn shown here I discovered a rusted truck, its engine missing and its tires stuck in about eight inches of mud from years of rain flowing through an opening above. In addition, I glimpsed an old wooden wagon, its front axle broken in half and the carriage covered with cracked stain partially concealed by a tattered gray canvas. Scrawls of spray paint tainted moldy walls, profane phrases of graffiti by vandals who’d previously visited and left their mark in the darkness of the barn, further desecrating the place.

3 thoughts on “Abandoned Barn in March

  1. What an incredible photo. Thank you for sharing this experience…and I agree, stepping on to the property of an abandoned home does feel like entering hallowed ground.

Leave a Reply

