Cabin Door

Cabin Door

Cabin Door

When I am traveling through scenic landscape settings, I am usually focused upon capturing a composition of all the elements in a scene, hoping to recreate the mood and atmosphere of the location. For this reason, in many instances a professional grade fixed prime lens with a wide angle would probably present a more distinct and vivid image than the zoom lens that I, like most photographers, carry with me.

However, one advantage I have found with the variable options of a zoom lens has been its ability to invite my attention toward capturing close-up shots of isolated items within the vista before me. This urges me to attempt more artistic perspectives I might otherwise have missed.

For example, the photo above is one of a sequence I took while hiking about one month ago. As I was walking by an historic cabin on a snowy morning, I snapped a series of pictures. Most of the shots I saved included the old building within its surroundings of snow-covered grounds and trees under a cloud-filled sky.

I liked very much the overall tone of the arrangement in the layout of objects before me, and an example can be seen in the photograph I posted on February 13.

Nevertheless, while manipulating the zoom lens, I discovered an interesting image of one feature separate from its surroundings. The weathered and stained cabin door seen here with those textured wood boards enclosed within its frame seemed almost to be an object of art by itself.

In addition, a contrast between the vertical lines of the door and the horizontal lines of the cabin’s logs presented a compelling view that drew the attention of my eyes. Moreover, the satisfactory quality of the zoom offered enough of the rough-hewn surfaces on the wood to suggest an increased feeling for texture, while a little bit of snow on the doorstep supplied a hint of the cold temperature.

Consequently, this picture displays a subtle but complex set of details—unhindered by the distractions an entire landscape portrait might inject—that I hope will evoke differing responses from viewers involving more senses than simply that of sight.

One thought on “Cabin Door

  1. Pingback: Book Cover Photograph: Cabin Door | Edward Byrne: Photography Journal, 2013

Leave a Reply

